All set for Lok Sabha Elections poll in inner Manipur

Imphal: In preparation for the first phase (Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency seat ) of the 18th Lok Sabha Election, 2024, the dispersal of polling personnel from the office of the Returning Officers (ROs) was successfully completed on Thursday.

The constituency is scheduled to go to polls on Friday.

The polling teams were flagged off by the respective ROs of the four districts falling under the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency.

Prior to their dispersal, the strong rooms situated at their respective District Collector (DC) Office Complexes were opened.

This was done to facilitate the dispersal of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs).

The process took place in the presence of Assistant Returning Officers (AROs), Nodal Officers, and representatives from various political parties to ensure transparency and security.

The 1-Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency comprises of 32 Assembly Constituencies and there will be a total of 1,319 polling stations catering to 9,91,574 eligible electors.

Additionally, in a commendable move to ensure inclusivity, 29 Special Polling stations have been set up for Internally Displaced People. For  this there will  be three stations in Imphal East, five in Imphal West, 11 in Bishnupur, two each in Kakching and Churachandpur, four in Kangpokpi, and one each in Thoubal and Tengnoupal districts.

Security concerns have led to the identification of certain polling stations as vulnerable or critical.

In Imphal East, 58 polling stations have been marked as vulnerable and 67 as critical. In Imphal West, 17 polling stations are identified as vulnerable and 70 as critical.

In a move towards gender inclusivity and empowerment, Imphal West district will also see the operation of 145 women-manned Polling stations and 13 Model Polling stations.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours