BJP led govt. won confidence vote in the house

Imphal (DIPR): Chief Minister N. Biren Singh led BJP Government today won the Motion of Confidence at the 11th session of the Eleventh Manipur Legislative Assembly through voice vote. The Motion was moved by theleader of the House.

Giving his statement about the performance of his Government, N. Biren Singh said that the Motion was moved to show the confidence of the House and the public on how the Government is working stably even during the Covid-19 pandemic. He also maintained that the three years and five month old Government had been working for all round development of the State since its formation.

N. Biren Singh highlighted to the House the works taken up by his Government which included Manipur Water Supply Project, missions and schemes like Go to Village, Go to Hills, CMHT, Start Up Scheme, Implementation of Inner Line Permit System, Video Satellite Class for Civil Service Aspirants of the State among others. He further stated the law and order had considerably improved in the State and the Government isstill working for humanity service and supporting livelihood to the people.

The Chief Minister thanked the Members of the House for their kind service, to contain the Covid-19 pandemic at their respective Assembly Constituencies. He also expressed his gratefulness to the frontline workers like Doctors, Police, Medical Staff, Students Union and other essential services for their tireless service and support during this pandemic.

During the discussion for Motion of Confidence, Leader of Opposition Okram Ibobi Singh, Opposition MLAs Gaikhangam, Govindas Konthoujam, K. Ranjit Singh, N. Loken Singh, Dr. Chaltonlien Amo, Khumukcham Joykisan Singh, Ak Mirabai Devi, Th. Lokeshwar Singh,   Alfred Kan-Ngam Arthur, Okram Surjakumarand. K. Meghachandra Singh raised opposition to the Motion.

Y. Joykumar Singh, Deputy Chief Minister who is also in charge of Finance tabled Finance Accounts (Volume-I) 2018-19, Finance Accounts (Volume-II) 2018-19, Appropriation accounts 2018-19 and Accounts at a Glance 2018-19 at the House.

The Secretary, Manipur Legislative Assembly also intimated the House on the Governor’s assent to Bills namely, The Manipur Appropriation (No. 1) Bill, 2020, The Bir Tikendrajit University, Manipur Bill, 2020 (Bill No. 3 of 2020), The Manipur Sewerage Bill, 2019 (Bill No. 4 of 2020), The Kangla Fort (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Bill No. 5 of 2020), The Manipur University of Culture (Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Bill No. 6 of 2020), The Manipur Professions, Trades, Callings and Employment Taxation (Ninth Amendment) Bill, 2020 (Bill No. 7 of 2020), The Manipur Appropriation (No. 2) Bill, 2020, The Salaries and Allowances of Members of the Legislative Assembly (Manipur) (Twenty-First amendment)Bill, 2020 (Bill No. 8 of 2020) and The Salaries and Allowances of Minister (Manipur) (Thirteen Amendment)Bill, 2020 (Bill No. 9 of 2020).

The Chief Minister moved the Fourteenth Report of the Business advisory Committee, 2020 and later the House adopted the Report. The House also adopted the Motion for extension of time for the presentation of the Report of the Select Committee on the Manipur Liquor Prohibition (Second Amendment) Bill, 2018 (Bill No. 9 of 2018) and report of the Enquiry Committee on the fraudulent withdrawal of money in the Department of Tribal Affairs and Hills Development till the next session.

+ There are no comments

Add yours