Art and culture minister announced Manipur State Film Awards, 2020

Imphal (DIPR): Art & Culture Minister, L. Jayantakumar announced the list of awardees of the 13th Manipur State Film Awards, 2020 including Lifetime Achievement Award at a press meet held at the office chamber of the Minister at Secretariat South Block, Imphal today. This award is sponsored every year under the aegis of Art & Culture Department with the objective to encourage and facilitate film fraternity in the State.

Speaking at the occasion, Minister Jayantakumar said even though the jury committee has already prepared the list of awardees in time but the announcement of this year’s Manipur State Film Awards, 2020 is delayed due to the prevailing situation of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Above the actors and other film personalities, the Government will try to introduce awards for the other crew members who are taking part in the promotion of Manipuri Films, Minister added.

The Manipur State Film Awards, 2020 consists of 57 awards altogether out of which 33 is for Feature Film, 20 for non-feature film and 3 for best writing on Manipur Cinema and 1 for MSFDS Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 13th MSFDS Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred to Smt. Ksh. Rashi Devi of Thangmeiband Lourung Purel Leikai, Imphal for her outstanding & continuous contribution to the growth and development of Manipur Cinema.

The Best Feature Film was awarded to Pandam Amada, produced by Konsam Saroja and directed by Oinam Gautam. Best Non-feature film was awarded to Highways of Life, directed by Maibam Amarjeet Singh, Films Division, Government of India production. Best critic award was conferred to Aken Sijagurumayum, Best Child artist award was given to S. Saolin. Best Actor Male and Female was awarded to Amar Mayanglambam for his role in Eechadi Manini and Bala Tensubam for her role in Chaphu, respectively.

The judgements were done by 4 panels of jury. The MSFDS Lifetime Achievement
Award was chaired by Hon’ble Minister, Art & Culture, Manipur. L. Surjakanta Sharma, who chaired the feature film competition, Ronel Haobam, heading the Non-feature film and R.K. Bidur chaired the Best Writing on Manipuri Cinema.

The occasion was also attended by Commissioner, Art & Culture, M. Joy, IAS, Director Art & Culture Ng. Uttam, MCS, the Chairman of the Jury Panel L. Surjakanta Sharma, Ronel Haobam and R.K. Bidur.

+ There are no comments

Add yours