Yumnam Khemchand is the new speaker; Biren won floor test

Imphal: Yumnam Khemchand Singh, BJP MLA from Singjamei Assembly Constituency was elected as the new Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly by voice vote in the floor of the House assembled this morning.

MLA Konthoujam Govindas Singh of INC was defeated in the contest for the post of the speaker.

Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh led BJP government won the floor test in the 60-member House of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly today. The government got support of 32 MLAs that include 20 BJPs, 4 NPPs, 4 NPFs, one each of LJP, AITC, Independent and Congress.

The strength of the government was shown by voice vote on the floor of the Assembly.

+ There are no comments

Add yours