Imphal: “Manipur, Manipur… Justice for Manipur” chant echoed in the Parliament as two new MPs of Manipur, elected on Indian National Congress ticket, took their oaths as new Lok Sabha MPs.

Former associate professor Angomcha Bimol Akoijam was elected in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency. He defeated his nearest rival BJP candidate Th. Basantakumar, present Education minister in the Biren-led government.

Bimol took the oath in Manipuri, holding the Indian Constitution in his right hand.

Akoijam took the oath in the name of ‘Shidaba Mapu’ (Supreme God), pledging to respect the constitution of India and to discharge his duty sincerely to protect the nation.

Akoijam concluded with “Jai Hind, Ema Leibak Na Yaiphare, Manipur Ema Na Yaiphare.”

Alfred Kanngam Arthur, elected from the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency. He defeated his nearest rival, Naga Peoples’ Front candidate Kachui Timothy Zimik, with a huge margin.

He swore to uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India and to faithfully discharge his duties.

Arthur concluded, “Manipur Meh Nyay Dilayeye, Desh Bachayeye”. He took the oath with a traditional ‘Tangkhul’ stole on his shoulder.

Despite having a double-engine government, the BJP candidate was defeated in the Inner Manipur parliamentary seat by over 1 lakh votes. No BJP candidate was contested in the outer seat, but BJP supported the regional political party Naga People’s Front.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours