Imphal: A Cabinet decision of Manipur government taken on Thursday has constituted a Cabinet sub-committee under Rule 13 of the Rules of Business of Government of Manipur in connection with rehabilitation and resettlement of internally displaced persons (IDPs) in the state resulting from the ongoing crisis.

The committee will be headed by minister of Works and YAS, K. Govindas Singh as the chairperson while Water Resources and Relief and Disaster Management minister Awangbow Newmai, Medical Health and Family Welfare and IPR, Dr. Sapam Ranjan Singh and minister of Animal Husbandry and Veterinaryb and Transport, Khashim Vashum will be the members of the committee.

Commissioner-cum-Home, Gyanprakash Huirem will be the member secretary of the committee. The committee shall report to the chief minister.

The terms of reference of the Cabinet sub-committee includes identifying the grievances of IDPs staying in relief camps, assessing the needs and requirements of persons in relief camps, supervising measures for resettlement and rehabilitation of IDPs, and supervising identification of land for temporary relocation of IDPs.

The Cabinet also resolved to instruct deputy commissioners to complete assessment of damage due to floods within one week.

It approved Rs 10, 000 per flood affected family as immediate relief.

The Cabinet also approved to conduct local elections for ADC, Panchayats and Municipalities jointly around September, 2024.

It approved to seek views of HAC in respect of ADC elections.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours