Manipur re-poll records 81.6 percent

Imphal: Re-polling at 11 polling stations in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, conducted after poll violence, concluded peacefully on Monday, with a record of 81.6 percent votes.

Enhanced security measures were put in place to ensure the safety of voters and polling personnel.

Voters turned up in large numbers from 7 am to ensure that their votes are not taken away.

The fresh polls concluded at 5 pm as per the schedule.

A total of 8,493 individuals, comprising 3,990 males, 4,497 females, and six transgender voters, were eligible to cast their votes in these 11 polling stations.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the fresh polls after declaring the previous polls conducted on April 19, in these 11 stations as void due to various incidents of poll violence, including gunfire and destruction of EVMs, VVPAT machines and others.

These 11 polling stations fall under five Assembly Constituencies and are spread across two districts, Imphal East and Imphal West.

The polling stations where the fresh polls were conducted include 3/11-Sajeb (A) and 3/21 Khurai Thongam Leikai under Khurai AC; 4/43-Bamon Kampu (North-A), 4/44-Bamon Kampu (North-B), 4/45-Bamon Kampu (South West), and 4/46-Bamon Kampu (South East) under Kshetrigao AC; 5/31-Khongman Zone-V(A) under Khongman AC; 10/1-Iroishemba, 10/6-Iroishemba Mamang Leikai, and 10/7-Iroishemba Mayai Leikai under Uripok AC; and 18/22-Khaidem Makha under Konthoujam AC.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours