Guv distributes prizes to winners of R-Day parade

Imphal: With a folk dance festival and beating retreat, the 75th Republic Day Celebration, 2024 came to a close on Saturday, with distribution of awards.

Manipur governor Anusuiya Uikey graced the folk dance festival and spectacular beating retreat held at 1st Manipur Rifles Parade Ground in Imphal.

Chief minister N. Biren Singh, ministers, MLAs, chief secretary and other civil and police officers attended the programme.

The governor distributed prizes to the winners of the folk dance festival held on this day.

She handed over a cash prize of Rs 1lakh to the winning (first position) troupe- Sangeet Kala Sangam, Khurai, Imphal East, and Rs 75,000 to Lianda Folk and Classical Academy, Imphal West, for securing second position and Rs 50,000 to  Tribal Cultures and Research Centre, Tamenglong district for the third position.

She felicitated four village chiefs and chairmen from Noney and Tamenglong district with red blankets.

Uikey also distributed prizes to the winners of March Past competition held on Republic Day parade in different categories.

In uniform contingent, BSF stood first, CRPF stood second and Tripura State Rifles contingent scored third positions. In School and other contingents, 1st MR Unit High School, Anouba Mangal Trust (Social Welfare Department) and Pari Imom Contingent stood first, second and third positions respectively.

Home Guard Female band, 2nd Manipur Rifles band scored first and second positions while CRPF Band along with 1st MR Band stood third position jointly.

Talui Naga Village Dance Troupe, Ukhrul scored first, Mao Cultural Dance Troupe, Senapati scored second while Maring Lhousha Dance Troupe, Tengnoupal scored third positions in the Cultural Dance Troupes.

Directorate of Information and Public Relations stood first position in the Tableau category.

Commissioner IPR, M. Joy Singh along with Director (IPR) Dr. Th. Charanjeet Singh jointly received the prize from the governor.

Special prizes were also distributed to selected officers. Director (IPR) Dr. Th. Charanjeet Singh received the special prize from the governor.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours