No pending in teachers’ promotion: Manipur Edu minister

Imphal: Instructions have been given to the officials not to hold regarding the issues of pending promotion and other such related problems of the teachers which will hamper or discourage the teachers in any way, Manipur Education minister Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh said on Teachers’ Day.

The state level Teachers’ Day was celebrated on Tuesday at MSFDS, Palace Compound, here.

“The department will take steps to ensure that every school in Manipur has the facilities to deliver world class education that can hold its own against any school in the country,” the minister said.

Teaching is the most noble profession amongst all the professions. The profession of teaching is deeply rooted in Manipur culture and considered as a sacred-service that an individual can render to the society, he added.

“The idea of co-existence and mutual understanding should be instilled in the mind of the students so that it will go a long way in resolving the issue of misunderstanding in the future that will hamper the development of the state.” “Moral philosophy should be introduced in the school curriculum.” Exchange programme between students belonging to hill and valley areas can also be incorporated in the schools so that they can be exposed to different cultures and people, Basanta Kumar said.

In order to have  communal harmony in the society, the minister instructed the Higher Education department to take up programmes such as inter community debates so that the students can learn the cultures of different communities.

During the function, State Level Teacher’s Award were given to four teachers. The teachers who got the awards were Rajkumari Romila Devi and Salam Meghachandra Singh, Lecturer (Mathematics) C.C Higher Secondary School; Koijam Machasana, Arts Graduate Teacher from Ghari Upper Primary School; and Songsar Nicodim Monsang, Primary Teacher from Japhou Upper Primary School.

The State Level College Appreciation Certificates were given to seven colleges.  The colleges, who received the certificates, were Don Bosco College, Maram; Rayburn College, Churachandpur; South East Manipur College, Komlathabi; Waikhom Mani Girls College, Thoubal; S. Kula Women College, Thoubal College and Churachandpur College.

As part of the programme, floral tributes were paid to Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrisnan.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours