AMSU boycotts 16 school for collecting fees

Imphal: All Manipur Students’ Union ( AMSU ) has so far boycotted 16 private schools for collecting tuition fees during Covid-19 lockdown.

Six of the schools were boycotted on November 28. They were MECI Explorer School Changangei, Paree Imom Singdamshang Langjing, Tiny Tots English school Dewlahland, Bright Foundation School Thoubal Khetri leikai Tomjing, St Xavier School Moirang and MEM school Ghari

Ten of them were declared boycott on Saturday. The schools includeed Maria Montessori School Koirengei, UNACCO School Khongman, Nawa Sindam Shang Thoubal Kshetri Leikai, Shishu Nistha Niketan Mayaikoibi, Kindergarten Montessori School Takyel, Comet School Changangei, Herbert School Ghari, Millennium Institute of Sciences Mayaikoibi, Froebel English School Kanglatongbi and Olivia English School Kanglatongbi.

The student boycott said it will not lift the boycott till the government order allowing schools to collect tuition fees for the months in the lockdown period is revoked, AMSU said.

The state government ordered schools not to collect tuition fees for the month of April to July, but the latest order directed the schools to collect 30 percent of the monthly tuition fees, the student body said.

It appealed to the parents and guardians not to cooperate with the decision of the boycotted schools to collect the tuition fees.

AMSU said it had already informed all schools to abstain from collecting tuition fees starting from April.

Human Resource Development secretary AMSU Bruce Pebam in a press release said the union has no objection in admission process of the students and appealed not to collect the tuition fees for the students during the lockdown period.

The student body demanded that the commissioner of education(s) should revoke its order dated October 5 which directed the private schools in the state to collect 30 percent of monthly fees.

+ There are no comments

Add yours