All set for 10-hour voting tomorrow

Imphal: District Election Officer/DC, Imphal West has set all necessary arrangement for the poll day of the Wangoi Bye Elections scheduled to be held tomorrow from 7am to 5pm.

A total number of 205 polling personnel who are to render election duty on poll day had dispersed this morning from the office complex of District Election Officer/DC, Lamphelpat, Imphal West.

41 teams of polling personnel, each comprising of one presiding officer, four polling officers I,II,III and IV along with one videographer will conduct the Bye Elections at 41 polling stations within the 22-Wangoi A/c.

Presiding Officer, who is the in charged of each polling station will perform duties like filling up of forms, submission of reports and take decisions in case of any issues. Polling Officers I,II,III and IV will be responsible for activities like verification of voters on the electoral roll, applying indelible ink and keeping control of Electronic Voting Machine’s control unit.

Videographers are crucial for enforcing the Election Commission of India’s model code of conduct, the guidelines that aim to ensure free and fair voting. Videographers have to gather evidence of both procedures being followed – and when they are suspected of being violated.

On the other side, District Election Officer, Imphal West Naorem Praveen Singh appealed to all electors of Wangoi A/C to refrain from accepting any gratification in cash or kind or threaten any candidate or elector with injury of any kind. In case anybody offers or anyone having knowledge about the bribe or cases of threat/intimation of electors, then he/she should inform to the District Election Authority through the Control room No: 0385-2410300 of the Complain Monitoring Cell. Any media related query can be had from the Media Cell DEO, Imphal West Phone No: 0385-2410301.

The Bye Election of Wangoi A/C is to be conducted simultaneously along with 30-Lilong A/C, 34-Wangjing-Tentha A/C and 51-Saitu A/C (ST). BJP candidate Ginsuanhau Zou @ GS Haupu was elected unopposed from 60-Singhat A/c (ST) after Independent candidate Chinlunthang withdrew his nomination. (DIPR)

+ There are no comments

Add yours