Manipur PCC demands disqualification of 12 parliamentary secretaries

Imphal: Demanding disqualification of 12 parliamentary secretaries Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) submits a memorandum to governor Najma Heptula on Friday.

The MPCC team was led by opposition leader Okram Ibobi and was accompanied by DD Thaisii, K Meghachandra, Govindas Konthoujam, K Ranjit and Congress central working committee member, Gaikhangam.

Ibobi, briefing reporters at Congress Bhawan, alleged that since the day BJP led government was formed the government illegal and unconstitutional activities have been taking up. “To show the present government that law still exist in Manipur the congress team met governor of Manipur,” he said.

In March 2017 Congress wins in 27 seats out of 60 Assembly seats. When the party was about to form the government, central leaders of BJP came at Raj Bhavan and forcibly form the present coalition government, he added.

On the day of formation of present government Th. Shyamkumar who won on Congress ticket was appointed as minister against 10th schedule, Ibobi said.

In addition of forming the coalition government unconstitutionally, the government appointed 12 parliamentary secretaries and avail them the benefits of GAD. He said the 12 parliamentary secretaries were provided salaries, official vehicles from GAD which is an office of profit. Ibobi pressed governor to disqualify the 12 persons at the earliest.

The state government has been giving awareness to maintain strict standard operating procedure and it is not the appropriate time for by-elections, Ibobi said.

He said in some places public meeting are being held with chief minister, N Biren. He expressed if such gatherings follow the SOPs of the government.

+ There are no comments

Add yours