Imphal, January 25, 2017 (DIPR): Education Minister Shri Thokchom Radheshyam today inspected Dhanamanjuri College of Science and LMS Law College which is among the five colleges to be a Cluster University to upgrade Dhanamanjuri College as Dhanamanjuri University under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) scheme.

The Minister visited the main building of the LMS Law College which was badly damaged in the 2017 earthquake. He also visited D. M. College of Science and inspected the infrastructures of the college which is needed improvement for upgrading to university level standard.

Th. Radheshyam said that the introduction of the university will increase the number of student’s enrolment in Master’s Degree course in the State as will be a viable option for the students for admission to higher studies besides the Manipur University. The on the spot inspection was carried out to look into the infrastructure conditions of the two colleges so that a mapping is done to start the developmental works.

The other three colleges to be converged to the Cluster University include Dhanamanjuri College of Arts, Dhanamanjuri College of Commerce and G. P. Women’s College which resides in common and adjoining/neighbouring physical spaces. Dhanamanjuri University Bill, 2017 was passed by the Manipur Legislative Assembly on August 3, 2017.

Earlier Dhanamanjuri University Bill, 2016 was approved by the Cabinet held on August 26, 2016 and the draft Bill was introduced on September 2, 2016. The bill was passed on September 5, 2016 by the Manipur Legislative Assembly.

The Minister was accompanied by Commissioner, Higher and Technical Education H Deleep, Director University & Higher Education Shri B. John Tlangtinkhuma, officials of the Education Engineering Wing and teachers

+ There are no comments

Add yours