How will be teachers’ day

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

Imphal, September 3: Amid the diktat by Joint Students’ Coordination Committee formed by AMSU, MSF, KSA and SUK to celebrate Teachers Day on October 5 instead of celebrating on September 5 greetings of Teachers Day have been released from various quarters.

Governor Najma A. Heptulla has extended her greetings to the people, especially the members of the teaching community on the occasion of Teachers Day, 2017.

In her message the Heptulla said 5th day of September is celebrated across the country in memory of Dr. S. Radhakrishnan a renowned educationist, scholar and a former President of India on his birth anniversary. He recognized the importance of teachers who are the guides and mentors of the youth who are the future pillars of the society. Every human being has to go through a learning phase and his mentor’s ability will determine the performance of his pupils. The traditional Guru-Shishya parampara has yielded to the present system of Schools, Colleges and Universities with the basic principle of imparting knowledge remaining the same. The teachers are, therefore. The moulders of our future and hence their services need to be acknowledged.

I have no doubt that they will continue to strive to provide their services with utmost dedication and devotion, added Heptulla.

The joint student committee yesterday warned that strict actions will be taken if  the teachers day is celebrated on September 5.October 5 is World’s Teachers’ Day UNESCO took initiative in observing International Teachers’ Day since 1994, which is appropriate to celebrate the day for teachers.

Chief minister Nongthombam Biren Singh in his message said, “I am happy to learn that the Teacher’s Day is being celebrated today, the 5th of September 2017.”

The 5th of September is celebrated as Teacher’s Day every year across the country in commemoration of the birth day of Late Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishna, as a tribute to the contribution made by teachers towards the community. Dr. Radhakrishnan, an excellent educationist, a great philosopher, humanist, has indeed been a beacon, proving and showing the ways to the teachers.

Teacher’s Day is celebrated to pay our heart respect to the teachers for their hard work and dedication to the society.

Once again I salute all the teachers of Manipur for their dedication to their work and wish them a Happy Teacher’s Day, said the chief minister.

There were schedules made of observing the day in schools and colleges, to celebrate Teacher’s Day tomorrow. The G.P Women college Hostel has its schedule to organise Teachers’ Day cum Freshers’ Welcome Ceremony tomorrow in presence of the MAHUD minister Th. Shyamkumar.

The All Manipur Government Higher Secondary School Lecturers’ Welfare Association in a press statement released today wished the teachers and students in the state in the state for a better society.

The association also drew the attention of the chief minister over their grievances urging to recommend seventh pay commission among other demands including reforms in teachers recruitment and promotion policy.

A school administrator who fails to disclose his name told Pothashang “We will not pospone the the celebration day as scheduled tomorrow. We have aready made huge preparations for tommorrow and it will be big function.”

The state government has selected 10 teachers for the ‘State Award to Teacher 2017’ which would be presented during the State level Teachers’Day celebration on September 5 in Imphal.

The award carries cash incentive of Rs 10,000, each.

Teachers who have been conferred the State Award to Teachers are also given the privilege of continuing their service for one more year after attaining the age of retirement.

Two teachers from the state have been selected for National Teachers Award. They are Kangjam Jayanta, primary teacher of Samushang Primary School, Imphal West and Hijam Sobita, Principal, Lamlong Higher Secondary School, Imphal East.

The ZEO Zone II, Imphal East has also selected 10 teachers to confer district level teacher’s award tomorrow.

+ There are no comments

Add yours