People await judgement day

People of Manipur eagerly waits for the judgement day which is few hours away while as both the key contenders Congress and the BJP confident on forming the government on their own.

Counting of votes for the 11th Manipur Legislative Election will begin tomorrow at 33 counting halls in nine district head quarters for which necessary security measures have been taken up.

The counting will start from 8:00 at the district head quarters of Tamenglong, Chandel, Senapati, Churachandpur, Bishnupur, Imphal West, Imphal East, Ukhrul, Jiribam and Kangpokpi.

Chief electoral officer V.K. Dewangan said 30 companies of central paramilitary forces will be deployed for security purposes and the counting hall as well as the strong room containing the EVM will be under CCTV surveillance.

34 polling stations were yesterday re-polled for which polling was held on March 4 and today 28 polling stations were re-polled for the second phase election held on March 8.

Altogether 266 candidates contested in the election of the Manipur Assembly which has 60 seats. BJP contested in all the assembly constituencies, Congress in 59 constituencies.

The congress is eyeing to continue its fourth term under chief minister Ibobi Singh and the BJP attempting its first government. Both the BJP and the Congress are hoping to get 40 seats at their ends.

There have been different versions of exit polls published in different media pages. However people in the state have their own views.

Khumucham Joykishan, spokesperson of Congress said all the exit polls are wrong we will get at least 35 seats even though we fail to get 40. If situation demands we will work out with the local parties to from the government.

L. Bashanta Sharma, media and publicity secretary of BJP Manipur said if we need to from a hung government we will tie up with non congress parties.

+ There are no comments

Add yours