Journalist Biren turns CM – BJP buds its first government in Manipur

Today is an important day in the history of Manipur with BJP initiating its first regime in Manipur led by a person who was Journalist and a National football player, Nongthobam Biren Singh.

N. Biren Singh served as minister in different portfolios during Okram Ibobi led Congress regime.
Today Biren Singh was sworn in as the chief minister of Manipur at Raj Bhavan and discontinue congress rule in the state. He received cheers at a large gathering from his well wishers and BJP supporters at Keishampat.

Huidrom Ibomcha, SAI football coach talking to Pothashang said it is exiting that a footballer has become the chief of Minister of Manipur. I hope he will further promote the youth and sports at a much higher level and at the same time, may his government bring peace in the state, added Ibomcha.

“I don’t think the government would last long as it is supported by NPF, the party which is motivated for the welfare of only Naga community and that may bring social chaos while NSCN-IM is demanding a separated land for Naga people”, said a retired teacher. “The government should be very careful so that no battle is ensured in the soil of Manipur”, added the senior citizen.

“Now we have to see if the blockade that has crossed 4 months is ended with the advent of the BJP government as promised by the Prime Minister”. “If the blockade is brought to an end it should be disclosed on what ground the United Naga Council withdraws its blockade”. Here is my blessing to Biren for a responsible governance, said the senior citizen.

Biren Singh was elected to the Manipur legislative assembly for the first time in 2002 as the Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party candidate at the constituency Heingang. He later joined INC.

In May 2003 he was appointed Minister of State of Vigilance in the Manipur state government. In 2007 he retained his Assembly seat. He was also the minister of consumer affairs food and public distribution (CAF & PD) during his tenure in Ibobi’s Congress government. He was later appointed as the Minister of Irrigation & Flood Control and Youth Affairs & Sports in the State Government. In 2012 he retained his assembly seat for the third consecutive term.

In October 2016, Biren resigned as MLA joined the BJP on October 17, 2016.
Yumnam Joykumar of Uripok constituency, who was the DGP of Manipur also sworn as the deputy CM. He won on NPP ticket.

Th. Biswajit (BJP) of Thongju, Karam Shyam (LJP) of Langthabal, L. Jayanta Kumar (NPP) of Keishamthong, Letpao Haokip (NPP) of Chandel, N. Kayisii (NPP) of Tadubi, TH. Shyamkumar (INC) of Andro and Losii Dikho (NPF) of Mao also pledged as minister of the new government.

+ There are no comments

Add yours