Bimol, Alfred announced as common candidates of INDIA bloc

Imphal: The 10 political parties under the banner of the INDIA bloc, Manipur, has announced Professor Akoijam Bimol and former MLA Alfred K. Arthur, both from the INC as their common candidates for the inner and outer parliamentary seats of Manipur respectively, for the Lok Sabha election.

The primary objective behind the alliance is ‘to defeat the BJP and restore democracy, especially in Manipur, which has been a focal point of political upheaval and unrest’.

The participating political parties in this coalition include Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee, Janata Dal-United (JD-U), Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India (Marxist), All India Trinamool Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, All India Forward Bloc, Nationalist Congress Party, Shiv Sena (UBT), and the Revolutionary Socialist Party, Manipur.

However, it was observed that representatives from the CPI and JD-U were conspicuously absent from the subsequent press conference held to announce the common candidates. This absence raised questions about the unity and consensus within the INDIA bloc.

Despite the initial endorsement by the CPI of the alliance’s decision, the party had previously announced L. Sotinkumar as its candidate for the inner MP seat. While the nomination filing is still pending, the party has sought time to reconsider its candidate in alignment with the bloc’s common agenda.

CLP leader O. Ibobi speaking on behalf of all the participating parties, emphasised the collective sacrifice made by the parties in forgoing their individual candidates to prioritise defeating the BJP. “The goal is to save democracy,” he said.

Manipur PCC president K.  Meghachandra said the election manifesto of the common candidates would mirror the manifesto previously published by the INDIA bloc alliance, ensuring a cohesive and united front against the ruling party.

The CPI, despite pledging support to the common candidate of the INDIA bloc for the outer seat, has not yet made a definitive decision to withdraw its previously announced candidate for the inner seat.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours